First Love, Last Rites

Author(s): Ian McEwan

Short Stories

The fortieth anniversary edition of McEwan's first published work, beautifully re-jacketed for a new generation of fans.
Now with an Afterword from the author.
Forty years on from when they were first published, these stories show McEwan's dazzling early talent. Taut, brooding and densely atmospheric, these stories show us the ways in which murder can arise out of boredom, perversity can result from adolescent curiosity, and sheer evil might be the solution to unbearable loneliness.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Re-jacketed in stunning new series style, this is the first book from Booker prize-winning, Sunday Times bestselling Ian McEwan.

"Marks the debut of a talented and genuinely imaginative writer" -- Julian Barnes New Statesman "As promising a first collection of stories as I have ever come across" Vogue "Ian McEwan writes to shock and succeeds... It is a tour-de-force of concision, and funny, too, in a deadpan manner" -- Gabriele Annan Times Literary Supplement "A writer of uncanny power" Time

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth and The Children Act.

General Fields

  • : 9781784703608
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Arrow
  • : 0.183
  • : October 2018
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : August 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Ian McEwan
  • : Paperback
  • : 1608
  • : English
  • : 823/.9/14
  • : 208
  • : 1