Product detail

War Is in the Mountains : Violence in the World''s High Places

War Is in the Mountains : Violence in the World''s High Places

Author: Judith Matloff
$43.00(NZD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

Description: Mountainous regions are home to only ten percent of the world's population yet host a strikingly disproportionate share of the world's conflicts. Mountains provide a natural refuge for those who want to elude authority, and their remoteness has allowed archaic practices to persist well into our globalized era. As Judith Matloff shows, the result is a combustible mix those in the lowlands cannot afford to ignore. Travelling to conflict zones across the world, she introduces us to Albanian teenagers involved in ancient blood feuds; Mexican peasants hunting down violent poppy growers; and Jihadists who have resisted the Russian military for decades. At every stop, Matloff reminds us that the drugs, terrorism, and instability cascading down the mountainside affect us all. A work of political travel writing in the vein of Ryszard Kapuscinski and Robert Kaplan, The War is in the Mountains is an indelible portrait of the conflicts that have unexpectedly shaped our world.


Review: Praise for the author 'Matloff is a writing pro, sprightly and thorough in her characterizations' Publishers Weekly 'Matloff's sense of humor, clear reportage and zest for adventure never fails' Bob Drogin, author of Curveball


 


 


Author Biography: Judith Matloff is a Harvard graduate and teaches conflict reporting at the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism. Her articles have appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times, the Economist and the Financial Times. Matloff has pioneered safety training for journalists around the world, advising various international organisations including the Dart Center and International News Safety Institute. She has won several fellowships, including a Fulbright and MacArthur, and is the author of Fragments of a Forgotten War and Home Girl.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780715651896
  • : Duckworth & Co
  • : Duckworth & Co
  • : April 2017
  • : 21.00 cmmm X 15.00 cmmm X 2.20 cmmm
  • : February 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Judith Matloff
  • : Hardcover
  • : English
  • : 355
  • : 272