Product detail

One of Us is Sleeping

One of Us is Sleeping

Author: Josefine Klougart
Series: Danish Women Writers Ser.
$22.00(NZD)  inc GST
save $11.00(NZD) (33.3%) $33.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 2
Description

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading back home, where her mother is dying of cancer. This contrast between recollection and the belief that certain things will always be present in your life runs throughout the book, underpinning the striking imagery and magnificent prose.

Author description

Author of four best-selling novels, Josefine Klougart (b. 1985) has been hailed as one of Denmark's greatest contemporary writers. She was the first Danish author ever to have two of her first three books nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize, Scandinavia's most prestigious award. Her work has also been nominated for the Readers' Book Award, and she received the Danish Royal Prize for Culture in 2011 with the committee stating that she is "one of the most important writers, not just of her generation, but of her time." She's been compared to a range of authors, including Joan Didion, Anne Carson, and Virginia Woolf. Martin Aitken has translated dozens of books from the Danish, including works by Dorthe Nors, Jussi Adler-Olsen, Peter Hoeg, Pia Juul, and Kim Leine, among others. He was awarded the American-Scandinavian Foundation s Nadia Christensen Translation Prize, and was longlisted for both the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award."

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781940953373
  • : Open Letter
  • : Open Letter
  • : July 2016
  • : 218mm X 140mm X 23mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Josefine Klougart
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 839.8138
  • : 260