Cloud Atlas (Hachette Essentials)

Author(s): David Mitchell


Souls cross ages like clouds cross skies . . .



Six interlocking lives - one amazing adventure. In a narrative that circles the globe and reaches from the 19th century to a post-apocalyptic future, CLOUD ATLAS erases the boundaries of time, genre and language to offer an enthralling vision of humanity's will to power, and where it will lead us.



*Please note that the end of p39 and p40 are intentionally blank*


Review: An impeccable dance of genres . . . an elegiac, radiant festival of prescience, meditation and entertainment - The Times


Just about the most audacious, thrilling and, above all, entertaining young British novelist there is - Observer


His wildest ride yet . . . a singular achievement, from an author of extraordinary ambition and skill - Independent on Sunday


One of the most shamelessly exciting books imaginable - Spectator


David Mitchell entices his readers onto a rollercoaster, and at first they wonder if they want to get off. Then - at least in my case - they can't bear the journey to end. - Guardian


A novel of breath-taking ambition and scale, spanning continents, oceans and centuries - Christina Patterson


The novel's scale, ambition and execution make almost everything in this contemporary fiction look like a squalid struggle of Nissen huts . . . it is nothing short of a miracle of correspondences, of thematic and stylistic assonances, echoes and reverberations, every bit as intricate and rewarding as a complex fugue - The Times


Gloriously inventive and dazzlingly virtuosic - Independent on Sunday




Author Biography: David Mitchell is the author of the novels Ghostwritten, number9dreamCloud Atlas, Black Swan Green, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de ZoetThe Bone Clocks and Slade House. He has been shortlisted twice for the Booker Prize, won the John Llewellyn Rhys, Geoffrey Faber Memorial and South Bank Show Literature Prizes among others, and been named a Granta Best Young British Novelist. In 2018, he won the Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence, given in recognition of a writer's entire body of work.



In addition, David Mitchell together with KA Yoshida has translated from Japanese two books by Naoki Higashida - The Reason I Jump: One Boy's Voice from the Silence of Autism and Fall Down Seven Times, Get Up Eight: A Young Man's Voice from the Silence of Autism.



He lives with his wife and their two children in Ireland.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781529324983
  • : Hodder & Stoughton
  • : Sceptre
  • : June 2019
  • : 3.5 Centimeters X 12 Centimeters X 19.5 Centimeters
  • : July 2019
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : David Mitchell
  • : Paperback
  • : 1907
  • : English
  • : 432