Category:

 Senior Fiction

Four children temporarily lose their parents just as they are about to begin the race that offers their last chance of escaping poverty. Their task is to map a rail route through an uncharted wilderness. They overcome the many obstacles posed by nature, bears, bees, bats, riv... read more

Meet the Santander family - explorers and mapmakers. When Ma misses the train, Sal, the twins Joe and Francie, along with young Humphrey, are on their own, making their way to Grand Prospect as entrants in the Great Mapmakers' Race, a competition to map a railway route throug... read more

General Fields
: 9781776572038
: Gecko Press
: Gecko Press
Special Fields
: Eirlys Hunter
: Paperback
: Kirsten Slade
: 823.92
: 248
: books
The Mapmakers' Race
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Series:Iremonger Trilogy

'Roald Dahl by way of Charles Dickens' - Vox.com The Iremongers have taken up what was not wanted and wanted it. Clod is an Iremonger. He lives in the Heaps, a vast sea of lost and discarded items collected from all over London. At the centre is Heap House, a puzzle of houses, castle... read more

After hearing Edward Carey at the Auckland Writer’s Festival in May, I was fascinated by his description of the world of the Iremongers, and this has been the find of the year for intriguing and excellent children’s writing. The third in the trilogy, Lungdon, has just been published,... read more

General Fields
: 9781471401596
: Hot Key Books
: Hot Key Books
: 192mm X 26mm X 130mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Edward Carey
: Paperback
: 813.6
: 416
: illustrations (black and white)
: books
Heap House
$19.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Awards:Shortlisted for the 2018 NZ Children's Book Awards - Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction

A dramatic and emotional story about one girl's determination to stand by her beloved animals--and her refusal to give up, even in the face of impossible odds.

General Fields
: 9780008257002
: HarperCollins Publishers
: HarperCollins
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Stacy Gregg
: Paperback
: 2018
: English
: 823.92
: 256
: books
The Thunderbolt Pony (PB)
$18.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Children & YA


Annual 2 contains all-new material for 9 to 13-year-olds. The result is a highly original, contemporary take on the much-loved annuals of the past – all in one beautiful package.  
Alongside familiar names publishing for children –  Gavin Mouldey, Sarah ... read more

General Fields
: 9780473395230
: Annual Ink
: Annual Ink
Special Fields
: Edited by Kate De Goldi and Susan Paris
: Hardback
: books
Annual 2
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Senior Fiction

I'm not running late like I usually am. Maybe that's why I look in the river, maybe that's why I stop when I see it. A dark-coloured raincoat, the arms spread wide, floating, hood-first down the river. And then it starts to rain.
Fifteen-year-old Annie needs to get to her basket... read more

General Fields
: 9781760296834
: Allen & Unwin
: Allen & Unwin Children's Books
: 198mm X 128mm
: Australia
Special Fields
: Ella West
: Paperback
: 118
: English
: 176
: YFB
: books
Rain Fall
$19.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

'Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy' MELINDA SALISBURY 'Watson 's writing has the sort of poise rarely found in a debut' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE 'Thrilling and otherworldly' SUNDAY TIMES Every winter, Wren Silke is chased through the forest in a warped version of a childhood game. ... read more

General Fields
: 9781408884935
: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
: Bloomsbury Children's Books
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Mary Watson
: Paperback
: 2018
: English
: [Fic]
: 416
: books
The Wren Hunt
$17.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Series:Nevermoor
Awards:Winner Gold ABIA for Book of the Year 2018 Winner ABIA Book of the Year for Younger Readers  Winner Jessica Townsend 2018 ABIA Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year Winner Children's Fiction and Overall Book of the Year 2018 Indie Book Awards Winner Younger Reader's Category for the 2018 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Notabled CBCA Book of the Year Younger Readers Category 2018

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world-but is then tested beyond her wildest imaginationMorrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Even... read more

 
 
Nevermoor is the word that’s been on everyone’s lips over the last few months. Australian author Jessica Townsend's children’s book was pitched by her agent at last year’s Frankfurt Book Fair, where it created an eight-publisher bi... read more

General Fields
: 9780734418074
: Hachette Australia
: Lothian Children's Books
: 197mm X 129mm X 35mm
: Australia
Special Fields
: Jessica Townsend
: Paperback
: 1
: 823.92
: 400
: books
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #1)
$20.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

A beautifully written coming-of-age novel from an acclaimed literary voice. A lost boy. A dead girl, and one who is left behind. A village full of whispers and secrets. When the white hare appears, magical and fleet in the silvery moonlight, she leads them all into a legend, a chase. But who is the hunter and who the hunted?

General Fields
: 9781786690524
: Head of Zeus
: Zephyr
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Michael Fishwick
: Paperback
: 823.92
: 256
: books
The White Hare
$17.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Series:York

From National Book Award finalist Ruby ("Bone Gap") comes the first book in an epic alternate-history series about three kids who try to solve the greatest mystery of the modern world: a puzzle and treasure hunt laid into the very streets and buildings of New York City.

It’s New York, but not as you know it. Laura Ruby’s new series 'York' is an intriguing story about three children trying to save a building from developers. The book opens with a scene set in 1855 - a feisty young woman, Ava, is getting the better of a man who has fo... read more

General Fields
: 9780062306944
: HarperCollins Publishers
: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
: .992 Inches X 5.125 Inches X 7.625 Inches
Special Fields
: Laura Ruby
: Paperback
: Dave Stevenson
: English
: 813.6
: 496
: books
The Shadow Cipher (York #1)
$17.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Series:George's Secret Key to the Universe Ser.

When George finds a way to escape the spacecraft Artemis, where he has been trapped, he is overjoyed. Surely now he can return to Earth. But when George touches down, he knows immediately that something is wrong. There's a barre... read more

General Fields
: 9780552575294
: Random House
: Corgi
: 2.5 Centimeters X 12.9 Centimeters X 19.8 Centimeters
Special Fields
: Stephen Hawking; Lucy Hawking
: Paperback
: 618
: English
: 823.92
: 336
: books
George and the Ship of Time (George's Secret Key to the Universe #7)
$20.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

Series:Juno
Awards:Young Adult Fiction Category Award Winner, 2011 New Zeland Post Children's Book Awards Finalist for the LIANZA Children's Book Awards 2011

Juno and the Taris inhabitants must leave their dying island. The young people look forward to a wider life Outside, but Outside too has its problems. It is two-year-old Hera, with her uncanny ability to foresee events, who saves the Taris people from the injury and d... read more

General Fields
: 9781869793289
: Random House New Zealand Ltd
: Random House New Zealand Ltd
: 198 x 129mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Fleur Beale
: Paperback
: 368
: books
Fierce September (Juno #2)
$20.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Senior Fiction

A timeless fantasy set in the Second World War that weaves together magic, folklore and history, perfect for fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mister Tom. One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, P... read more

General Fields
: 9781406375633
: Walker Books Australia Pty, Limited
: Walker Books Australia
: 222mm X 144mm X 28mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: R. M. Romero R. M.
: Hardback
: 1217
: en
: 813.6
: 288
: books
The Dollmaker of Krakow (HB)
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2