Category:

 Volume Editions

A travelling writer makes an unexpected connection with a customs official in Marrakech. 

General Fields
: 9780473416928
: VOLUME
: VOLUME
Special Fields
: 210 x 150 mm
: David Coventry
: 8
: books
Transit at Marrakech
$5.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 28

Category:

 Literature

Awards:Long-listed for Baillie Gifford Prize 2017.

Edward Lear's poems follow and break the rules. They abide by the logic of syntax, the linking of rhyme and the dance of rhythm, and these 'nonsenses' are full of joy - yet set against darkness. Where do these human-like animals and birds and these odd adventures ... read more

General Fields
: 9780571269549
: Faber & Faber
: Faber & Faber
: 234mm X 156mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Jenny Uglow
: 608
: 821.8
: English
: Main
: Hardback
: books
Mr Lear: A Life of Art and Nonsense
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Literature

Awards:Longlisted for 2018 Ockham NZ Book Awards - The Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction.

How does a city make a writer? Described by Fiona Kidman as a ravishing, immersing read, A Strange Beautiful Excitement is a wild ride through the Wellington of Katherine Mansfields childhood.
From the grubby, wind-blast... read more

General Fields
: 9780947522544
: Otago University Press
: Otago University Press
: 200mm X 150mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Redmer Yska
: colour illus
: 296
: Hardback
: books
A Strange Beautiful Excitement: Katherine Mansfields Wellington 1888-1903
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Writing

In over 30 essays written over 20 years, one of the worlds great storytellers meditates on story-telling. Warm, funny, generous, entertaining and, above all, deeply considered, they offer thoughts on a wide variety of topics, including the origin and composition of... read more

General Fields
: 9781910200964
: David Fickling Books
: David Fickling Books
: 24.10 cmmm X 15.60 cmmm X 4.30 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Philip Pullman
: 9 colour illustrations and 42 B/W illustrations
: 496
: 808
: English
: Hardcover
: books
Daemon Voices: Essays on Storytelling
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

Each issue of the quarterly is completely redesigned. There have been hardcovers and paperbacks, an issue with two spines, an issue with a magnetic binding, an issue that looked like a bundle of junk mail, and an issue that looked like a sweaty human head. McSweeney s has won m... read more

General Fields
: 9781940450100
: McSweeney's Publishing
: McSweeney's Publishing
: 22.90 cmmm X 16.40 cmmm X 2.80 cmmm
: United States
Special Fields
: Dave Eggers
: 300
: en
: Hardback
: books
McSweeney's Issue 50
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A YEA... read more

General Fields
: 9781472240750
: Headline Publishing Group
: Tinder Press
: 216mm X 135mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Maggie O'Farrell
: 304
: 823.92
: en
: 917
: Paperback
: books
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

In The Face: Cartography of The Void, Chris Abani has given us a brief memoir that is, in the best tradition of the genre, also an exploration of the very nature of identity. Abani meditates on his own face, beginning with his early childhood that was immersed in th... read more

General Fields
: 9781632060433
: Regan Arts
: Restless Books
: 152mm X 114mm
: United States
Special Fields
: Chris Abani
: 80
: 820.9969
: Paperback
: books
The Face: Cartography of the Void
$15.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

These are the mythical books that were burnt, torn, stolen, or simply disappeared, but which certainly existed. In this elegiac and gripping volume, Giorgio van Straten is by turns detective and spy, traveller and scholar, as h... read more

General Fields
: 9781782273721
: Pushkin Press
: Pushkin Press
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Giorgio van Straten
: 144
: 002.09
: English
: Hardback
: books
In Search of Lost Books: The forgotten stories of eight mythical volumes
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Literature

'He's like an American Alan Bennett, in that his own fastidiousness becomes the joke, as per the taxi encounter, or his diary entry about waiting interminably in a coffee-bar queue' Brian Logan, Guardian review of An Evening with David Sedaris.
The point is to ... read more

General Fields
: 9780349120737
: Little, Brown Book Group
: Little, Brown
: 234mm X 153mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: David Sedaris
: 528
: 814.54
: English
: 617
: Paperback
: books
Theft by Finding: Diaries Vol 1
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Literature

This incredibly wide-ranging collection of maps all inspired by literary classics offers readers a new way of looking at their favorite fictional worlds. Andrew DeGraff s stunningly detailed artwork takes readers deep into the landscapes from "The Odyssey, Hamlet, Pride and... read more

General Fields
: 9781936976867
: Orange Avenue Publishing
: Zest Books
: United States
Special Fields
: Andrew Degraff
: 128
: Hardback
: books
Plotted: A Literary Atlas
$45.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Literature

Reading Level:General Adult

Writers’ relationships with their surroundings are seldom straightforward. While some, like Jane Austen and Thomas Mann, wrote novels set where they were staying (Lyme Regis and Venice respectively), Victor Hugo penned Les Mis�rablesin a... read more

General Fields
: 9781785781858
: Icon Books Ltd
: Icon Books Ltd
: 19.80 cmmm X 12.90 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Adrian Mourby
: 304
: 028
: English
: 617
: Hardcover
: books
Rooms of One's Own : 50 Places That Made Literary History
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 New Zealand Non-Fiction

Awards:New Zealand Post Book Awards 2012 Finalist: Non-Fiction

At the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival recently, Fiona Farrell was the star of the opening night with her stories of the Christchurch earthquake - this book takes those stories and gives them weight and heft and context. Fiona Farrell's meandering travel book s... read more

In preparation for my conversation with Fiona Farrell at the Mapua Literary Festival about her latest novel Decline and Fall on Savage Street, I’ve been reading The Broken Book. This was meant to be a book about travel, about her passion for walking and noticing. It ... read more

General Fields
: 9781869405762
: Auckland University Press
: Auckland University Press
: 210mm X 140mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Fiona Farrell
: 204
: 824.92
: Paperback
: books
The Broken Book
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2