Category:

 Volume Editions

A travelling writer makes an unexpected connection with a customs official in Marrakech. 

General Fields
: 9780473416928
: VOLUME
: VOLUME
Special Fields
: 210 x 150 mm
: David Coventry
: 8
: books
Transit at Marrakech
$5.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 15

Category:

 Literature

Awards:Long-listed for Baillie Gifford Prize 2017.

Edward Lear's poems follow and break the rules. They abide by the logic of syntax, the linking of rhyme and the dance of rhythm, and these 'nonsenses' are full of joy - yet set against darkness. Where do these human-like animals and birds and these odd adventures ... read more

General Fields
: 9780571269549
: Faber & Faber
: Faber & Faber
: 234mm X 156mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Jenny Uglow
: 608
: 821.8
: English
: Main
: Hardback
: books
Mr Lear: A Life of Art and Nonsense
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 10

Category:

 Writing

In over 30 essays written over 20 years, one of the worlds great storytellers meditates on story-telling. Warm, funny, generous, entertaining and, above all, deeply considered, they offer thoughts on a wide variety of topics, including the origin and composition of... read more

General Fields
: 9781910200964
: David Fickling Books
: David Fickling Books
: 24.10 cmmm X 15.60 cmmm X 4.30 cmmm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Philip Pullman
: 9 colour illustrations and 42 B/W illustrations
: 496
: 808
: English
: Hardcover
: books
Daemon Voices: Essays on Storytelling
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Literature

From the acclaimed author of The Old Ways and Landmarks -- an essay on the beauty and joy of reading, for anyone who has ever loved a book Every book is a kind of gift to its reader, and the act of giving books is charged with a special emotional resonance. It is a meeting of t... read more

General Fields
: 9780241978313
: Penguin Books Ltd
: Penguin Books Ltd
: 181mm X 111mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Robert Macfarlane
: 32
: 028.9
: en
: 617
: Paperback
: books
The Gifts of Reading
$9.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Literature

A compendium of non-fiction pieces held together by the theme of 'Home' and commissioned from 21 of New Zealand's best writers. Strong, relevant, topical and pertinent, these essays are also compelling, provocative and affecting, they carry the reader from Dunedin to West Papua, Ja... read more

Home: New writing is an excellent collection of essays from New Zealand writers. Each essay chosen by editor Thom Conroy takes you on its own journey, personal yet universal. In his introduction, Conroy reflects on the concept of 'home' being at the forefronts of our minds, with in... read more

General Fields
: 9780994140753
: Massey University Press
: Massey University Press
: 200mm X 148mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: editor: Thom Conroy
: Paperback
: books
Home : New writing
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

When we spend so much of our time immersed in books, who's to say where reading ends and living begins? The two are impossibly and gloriously wedded, as Hill shows in Jacob's Room Is Full of Books. Considering everything from Edith Wharton's novels through Alan Bennett... read more

General Fields
: 9781781250808
: Profile Books Ltd
: Profile Books Ltd
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Susan Hill
: 256
: 920
: English
: Hardback
: books
Jacob's Room is Full of Books
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature


Riffing on Ray Bradbury's classic novel about the end of reading, Tinderbox is one of the most interesting books in decades about literary culture and its place in the world. More than that, it's about how every one of us fits into that bigger picture - and the struggle to make sen... read more

If there had been any rain he would have opened his mouth and tasted the drops but it wasn’t raining and it hadn’t rained for some time. The vegetation everywhere was dry, what they call tinder dry because to be useful tinder needs to be dry, suggesting that dryness is a requisite quality... read more

General Fields
: 9781910296820
: Galley Beggar Press
: Galley Beggar Press
Special Fields
: Megan Dunn
: books
Tinderbox
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

Each issue of the quarterly is completely redesigned. There have been hardcovers and paperbacks, an issue with two spines, an issue with a magnetic binding, an issue that looked like a bundle of junk mail, and an issue that looked like a sweaty human head. McSweeney s has won m... read more

General Fields
: 9781940450100
: McSweeney's Publishing
: McSweeney's Publishing
: 22.90 cmmm X 16.40 cmmm X 2.80 cmmm
: United States
Special Fields
: Dave Eggers
: 300
: en
: Hardback
: books
McSweeney's Issue 50
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

Review: "Literary Witches is a kaleidoscopic grimoire that reveals our beloved literary craftswomen as the powerful witches we know them to be. Katy Horan's resplendent illustrations pulse with primal magic and are the kindling that set T... read more

General Fields
: 9781580056731
: Seal Press
: Seal Press
Special Fields
: Taisia Kitaiskaia ; Katy Horan (illus)
: 809
: English
: Hardcover
: books
Literary Witches : A Celebration of Magical Women Writers
$42.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A YEA... read more

General Fields
: 9781472240750
: Headline Publishing Group
: Tinder Press
: 216mm X 135mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Maggie O'Farrell
: 304
: 823.92
: en
: 917
: Paperback
: books
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

Series:Seasons Quartet

I want to show you our world as it is now: the door, the floor, the water tap and the sink, the garden chair close to the wall beneath the kitchen window, the sun, the water, the trees. You will come to see it in your own way, you will experience things for yourself and live a life of you... read more

General Fields
: 9781910701638
: Vintage Publishing
: Harvill Secker
: 211mm X 132mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Karl Ove Knausgaard
: artwork by Vanessa Baird
: 240
: 839.8248
: English
: Vanessa Baird
: 917
: Hardback
: books
Autumn
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Literature

Reading Level:General Adult

New Directions is proud to present Fleur Jaeggy's strange and mesmerizing essays about the writers Thomas De Quincey, John Keats, and Marcel Schwob. A renowned stylist of hyper-brevity in fiction, Fleur Jaeggy proves herself an even more concise master of the essay form, albeit... read more

 
The desire to understand must not be confused with the desire to know, especially in biography. Too often and too soon an accretion of facts obscures a subject, plastering detail over detail, obscuring the essential lineaments in the mistaken notion that we are approachi... read more

General Fields
: 9780811226875
: New Directions Publishing Corporation
: New Directions Publishing Corporation
: 178mm X 127mm X 8mm
: United States
Special Fields
: Fleur Jaeggy: Minna Proctor (TRN)
: 64
: 809
: English
: Paperback
: books
These Possible Lives
$21.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2