Category:

 Society

A memoir in the form of a series of sharply etched vignettes that shift astonishingly in time and mood, and range in place from Africa and the US to the streets of London. It demonstrates that no moment is isolated, and that privilege, conflict, race and gender are inherent in all our encounters, from the banal to the extreme.

What do you report when you become uncertain of the facts, of the notion of truth and of the purpose of writing? What can you understand of yourself when you are uncertain how or if your memories can be correlated with known 'facts'? Is your idea of yourself anything other than... read more

General Fields
: 9781909585218
: CB Editions
: CB Editions
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Lara Pawson
: Paperback
: 070.92
: books
This is the Place to Be
$20.00(NZD) inc GST
save $8.00(NZD) (28.6%) $28.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Short Stories

Description: Considered one of the leading writers of the 20th century, credited with influencing the works of other Latin American authors including Gabriel Garcia Marquez.Rulfo won Mexico's National Prize for Literature in 1970 and was awarded the Cervantes prize in 19... read more

General Fields
: 9781941920589
: Deep Vellum Publishing
: Deep Vellum Publishing
Special Fields
: Juan Rulfo
: books
The Golden Cockerel
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
save $7.00(NZD) (20%) $35.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Novel

General Fields
: 9780993575808
: Unknown Publisher
: Unknown Publisher
: 13.10 cmmm X 19.80 cmmm X 2.80 cmmm
Special Fields
: Seraphina Madsen
: en
: 256
: books
Dodge and Burn
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $10.00(NZD) (31.3%) $32.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Novel

Series:Danish Women Writers Ser.

Working in the vein of Anne Carson, Josefine Klougart's novel is both true-to-life and incredibly poetic in its relating of a brief, intense love affair and the grief and disillusionment that follow its end. While she recounts the time with her lover, the narrator is also heading b... read more

General Fields
: 9781940953373
: Open Letter
: Open Letter
: 218mm X 140mm X 23mm
: United States
Special Fields
: Josefine Klougart
: Paperback
: English
: 839.8138
: 260
: books
One of Us is Sleeping
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $11.00(NZD) (33.3%) $33.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Novel

Series:Transforming American Politics Ser.

"A penetrating autobiographical novel, and for English-language readers this work serves as a stunning introduction to a remarkable author." -- Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) "A novel of genius and disturbing intelligence." -- Enrique Vila-Matas, author of The Illogic of Kassel This power... read more

General Fields
: 9781941920244
: Deep Vellum Publishing
: Deep Vellum Publishing
: 210mm X 133mm
: United States
Special Fields
: Lina Meruane
: Paperback
: en
: 863.7
: 170
: books
Seeing Red
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $8.00(NZD) (26.7%) $30.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Novel

During the Cultural Revolution over 14 million Chinese high school graduates were sent from the cities to live and work in the countryside. They were known as zhiqing - 'educated youth'. They fell in love, married, had children. In the late 1970s the policy changed and they were allowed t... read more

General Fields
: 9781925336047
: Giramondo Publishing Co
: Giramondo Publishing Co
: 234mm X 156mm
: Australia
Special Fields
: Ye Xin
: Paperback
: 352
: books
Educated Youth
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
save $10.00(NZD) (28.6%) $35.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Short Stories

Reading Level:General Adult
General Fields
: 9781941920268
: Deep Vellum Publishing
: Deep Vellum Publishing
: 0.50000mm X 5.00000mm X 8.00000mm
Special Fields
: Laila (INT) Emma (TRN); Lalami Fouad; Ramadan Laroui
: Paperback
: English
: 843/.92
: 120
: books
The Curious Case of Dassoukine's Trousers
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $8.00(NZD) (26.7%) $30.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Poetry

"Black sand, grey sea, sombre orange coloured onto the pot its clay shape receiving a past not known to the potter, my coast, long deserted and with me where the words began." Helen Jacobs 5th collection of poems. First published September 2006.

General Fields
: 9781877338854
: Steele Roberts & Associates Ltd
: Steele Roberts & Associates
: 210mm X 150mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Helen Jacobs
: Paperback
: NZ821.3
: 64
: books
Lyric Road
$10.00(NZD) inc GST
save $10.00(NZD) (50%) $20.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

General Fields
: 9780956107367
: CB Editions
: CB Editions
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Gabriel Josipovici
: Paperback
: 823.914
: 166
: books
Only Joking
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $7.00(NZD) (24.1%) $29.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Short Stories

"Line by line, Cahill's writing is musical, assured: cumulatively, her seriousness is evident, her ambition impressive." - Hilary Mantel Letter to Pessoa is the first collection of short stories by award-winning Goan-Australian poet Michelle Cahill. It is an imaginative tour ... read more

General Fields
: 9781925336146
: Giramondo Publishing Co
: Giramondo Publishing Co
: Australia
Special Fields
: Michelle Cahill
: Paperback
: 224
: books
Letter to Pessoa
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $8.00(NZD) (26.7%) $30.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Fiction

Series:Landfall
Reading Level:General Adult

Featured Artists: Elizabeth Thomson, Nick Austin, James Robinson, Simon KaanWriters: Michalia Arathimos, Ruth Arnison, Nick Ascroft, Airini Beautrais, Tony Beyer, Peter Bland, Victoria Broome, Sam Clements, Jennifer Compton, David Coventry, Carolyn Cossey, Ben Egerton, Riemke ... read more

General Fields
: 9781927322246
: Otago University Press
: Otago University Press
: 215mm X 165mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: David Eggleton
: Paperback
: English
: 820
: 208
: colour illus
: books
Landfall 232:Spring 2016
$20.00(NZD) inc GST
save $10.00(NZD) (33.3%) $30.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Grains of sand, bridges, shampoo, a bike, board games, yoga, sellotape, birds, balloons, tattoos, wandering hands, tweezers, maths, fish, letterboxes, puppets, a vacuum cleaner, a ball of string - and love. In this novel of yous and mes, of hims and hers, Pagano choreographs the objects, gestur... read more

General Fields
: 9781908276766
: And Other Stories
: And Other Stories
: 198mm X 129mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Emmanuelle Pagano
: Paperback
: 843.92
: books
Trysting
$22.00(NZD) inc GST
save $6.00(NZD) (21.4%) $28.00(NZD)
Available Stock: 1