Category:

 Volume Editions

A travelling writer makes an unexpected connection with a customs official in Marrakech. 

General Fields
: 9780473416928
: VOLUME
: VOLUME
Special Fields
: 210 x 150 mm
: David Coventry
: 8
: books
Transit at Marrakech
$5.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 27

Who's who, where's where and what's what in the arts in Nelson.

General Fields
: 9780473301125
: Radi
: Radi
Special Fields
: books
Nelson Arts Guide 2015
$5.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 7

Category:

 History

General Fields
: 9780958289870
: Nikau Press
: Nikau Press
Special Fields
: Rob Packer and Barney Brewster
: books
Old Nelson : A postcard history, 1900-1940
$50.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 5

Category:

 Literature

Riffing on Ray Bradbury's classic novel about the end of reading, Tinderbox is one of the most interesting books in decades about literary culture and its place in the world. More than that, it's about how every one of us fits into that bigger picture - and the struggle to make sense of life in the twenty-first century.

If there had been any rain he would have opened his mouth and tasted the drops but it wasn’t raining and it hadn’t rained for some time. The vegetation everywhere was dry, what they call tinder dry because to be useful tinder needs to be dry, suggesting that dryness is a requisite quality... read more

General Fields
: 9781910296820
: Galley Beggar Press
: Galley Beggar Press
: 194mm X 138mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Megan Dunn
: 200
: 306
: English
: Paperback
: books
Tinderbox
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

Category:

 Literature

Awards:Longlisted for 2018 Ockham NZ Book Awards - The Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction.

How does a city make a writer? Described by Fiona Kidman as a 'ravishing, immersing read', A Strange Beautiful Excitement is a 'wild ride' through the Wellington of Katherine Mansfield's childhood. From the grubby, wind-blaste... read more

General Fields
: 9780947522544
: Otago University Press
: Otago University Press
: 200mm X 150mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Redmer Yska
: colour illus
: 296
: 823.2
: English
: Hardback
: books
A Strange Beautiful Excitement: Katherine Mansfields Wellington 1888-1903
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Night photography of New Zealand scenes and landscapes, combined with pithy proverbs and quotes. Featuring rural and suburban settings from around the country, this is the first book of night photos to be published in NZ. As well as full colour ... read more

General Fields
: 9780473202583
: Barney Brewster
: Barney Brewster
: 210mm X 277mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Barney Brewster
: colour photographs
: 64
: 778.7190993
: Paperback
: books
Night Visions: Reflections for the Moonlight Hours
$45.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Post Marks: The Way We Were - Early New Zealand Postcards, 1897-1922 reveals the pioneer roots of New Zealand culture, the importance society placed on industry and infrastructure and the rapidly changing shape of our landscapes. Collecti... read more

General Fields
: 9780987654663
: Kowhai Media Ltd
: Kowhai Media Ltd
: 255mm X 243mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Leo Haks
: colour
: 320
: Hardback
: books
Post Marks: The Way We Were - Early New Zealand Postcards, 1897-1922
$55.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Music

Series:Why I Write

From the renowned artist and author Patti Smith, an inspired exploration of the nature of creative invention A work of creative brilliance may seem like magic-its source a mystery, its impact unexpectedly stirring. How does an artist accomplish such an achievement, connecting deeply with an ... read more

General Fields
: 9780300218626
: Yale University Press
: Yale University Press
: 177mm X 120mm
: United States
Special Fields
: Patti Smith
: 11 b-w illus.
: 112
: 811.54
: en
: 1
: Hardback
: books
Devotion
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

I AM, I AM, I AM is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A YEA... read more

General Fields
: 9781472240750
: Headline Publishing Group
: Tinder Press
: 216mm X 135mm
: United Kingdom
Special Fields
: Maggie O'Farrell
: 304
: 823.92
: en
: 917
: Paperback
: books
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Art

Awards:Shortlisted for PANZ Book Design Awards: Best Illustrated Book 2012 and New Zealand Post Book Awards: Illustrated Non-Fiction 2012.

Graham Percy is one of New Zealand's highest achieving illustrators on a global scale. Though he lived in London from 1964 until his death in 2008, he grew up here and never ceased thinking of himself as an expatriate Kiwi. A ... read more

General Fields
: 9781869404703
: Auckland University Press
: Auckland University Press
: 248mm X 200mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Gregory O'Brien
: 200 illustrations, some colour
: 184
: 741.6092
: en
: Hardback
: books
A Micronaut in the Wide World: The Imaginative Life and Times of Graham Percy
$60.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Category:

 Music

Awards:The Judith Binney Best First Book Award for Illustrated Non-Fiction - 2016 Ockham NZ Book Awards

One of the largely unseen consequences of the European colonisation of Aotearoa was that the playing of, and knowledge about the traditional musical instruments of the Maori almost completely disappeared.
In the 1970s a young Pakeha schooltea... read more

General Fields
: 9781877517785
: Potton & Burton
: Potton & Burton
: Contains Book and CD-Audio
: 281 x 235 mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Richard Nunns (with Allan Thomas)
: Colour photographs
: 180
: 784.1908999442
: Hardback
: books
Te Ara Puoro: A Journey into the World of Maori Music
$50.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The New Zealand beer industry is a dynamic one - full of larger-than-life, passionate characters; from loveable rogues through to budding mad scientists. Our beers are just as diverse. Bringing together brewing traditions from all over the world... read more

The craft beer industry in New Zealand has been on the up and up since the 1980s. Nelson has more breweries per capita than anywhere else in the country: there are several dedicated craft beer bars - The Freehouse and the Craft Beer Depot; and a... read more

General Fields
: 9780947503413
: Potton & Burton
: Potton & Burton
: 240mm X 170mm
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Jules van Costello
: 220
: Paperback
: books
Brewed: A Guide to the Beer of New Zealand 2nd Edition
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2