Category:

 Novel

A striking, rambunctious, Tom Ripley-ish debut about cuckoos in the family nest, the death of colonial Rhodesia and the bloody birth of corrupt Zimbabwe
Bukhosi has gone missing. His father, Abed, and his mother, Agnes, cling to the hope that he has run away, rather than been murder... read more

General Fields
: 9781786493620
: Atlantic Books, Limited
: Atlantic Books
: ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.6'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Novuyo Tshuma
: Paperback
: English
: 813.6
: 374
: books
House of Stone
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

‘A marvellous and compelling book, on a subject of huge importance and scandal’     – Bernard O’Donoghue‘Murmur is a profound meditation on what machine consciousness might mean, the implications of AI, where it will all lead. It’s one ... read more

No algorithm can entertain a proposition as being both true and not true at the same time. This necessary computational allergy to contradiction enabled Alan Turing during his time at Bletchley Park in World War 2 to significantly decrease the time it took to break the German codes (“from a contr... read more

General Fields
: 9781909585263
: CB Editions
: CB Editions
Special Fields
: Will EAVES
: Paperback
: 823/.92
: 184
: books
Murmur
$34.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Poetry

An extraordinary debut from a young British-Jamaican poet, 'Perseverance' is a book of loss, language, and praise. One of the most crucial new voices to emerge from Britain, Raymond Antrobus explores the d/Deaf experience, the death of his father and the failure to communicate. Rang... read more

General Fields
: 9781908058522
: ZZZ
: ZZZ
Special Fields
: Raymond Antrobus
: Paperback
: 821.92
: 90
: books
The Perseverance
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

A powerful novel about war, family and love, from the bestselling, prize-winning author dubbed Pakistan 's brightest voice ' (Guardian) An American pilot crash lands in the desert and takes refuge in the very camp he was supposed to bomb. Hallucinating palm trees and worrying about dehydrating... read more

General Fields
: 9781408897195
: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Special Fields
: Mohammed Hanif
: Paperback
: 1811
: 823.92
: 304
: books
Red Birds
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Short Stories

Mothers is peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends - characters who search without knowing what they seek. From remote and wild Exmoor to ancient Swedish burial sites and hedonistic Mexican weddings, these stories lay bare the emotional and psychic damage of life and love in a stunning debut collection.

General Fields
: 9780571339693
: Faber & Faber, Limited
: Faber & Faber, Limited
: .709 Inches X 5.079 Inches X 7.795 Inches
Special Fields
: Chris Power
: Paperback
: en
: 823.92
: 304
: books
Mothers
$23.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Awards:Shortlisted for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction  

One of The Millions' "Most Anticipated" Books of 2018
Evoking the sharp insight of Little Fires Everywhere and the sweep of NW, an incisive portrait of the bliss and torment of domestic love.
Hailed as "one of the most thrilling writers at work today" (Huffington Post), Diana... read more

General Fields
: 9781784707248
: penguin random house
: Vintage
: ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Diana Evans
: Paperback
: 1902
: English
: 823/.92
: 352
: books
Ordinary People
$26.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Culture

Reading Level:Very Good
Awards:Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction Winner of Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2017 - General Non Fiction. 2017 Windham-Campbell Prize for non-fiction.

An Elle Ultimate Summer Read'Beautiful, unusual and memorable ... I love this book' MAGGIE NELSON, author of THE ARGONAUTSIn Can You Tolerate This? - the title comes from the question chiropractors ask to test a patient's pain threshold - Ashleigh Young ushers us into her early y... read more

Like some sort of contrast medium, Ashleigh Young’s prose penetrates the fissures and fine vessels of her experiences so that when the reader turns their attention to her texts, subtleties and depths and dimensions hitherto unsuspected yet somehow deeply familiar are revealed and... read more

General Fields
: 9781776560769
: Victoria University Press
: Victoria University Press
: 21.00 cmmm X 14.00 cmmm
Special Fields
: Ashleigh Young
: Paperback
: Reprint
: English
: 824.92
: 224
: F
: books
Can You Tolerate This?
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Nature

Reading Level:3 Biography

A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger Deakin and Olivia Laing.  Long captivated by the solid yet imp... read more

General Fields
: 9781471169311
: Scribner
: Scribner
: .945 Inches X 5.315 Inches X 8.504 Inches
Special Fields
: Nancy Campbell
: Hardback
: 1811
: English
: 828.9209
: 336
: books
The Library of Ice: Readings from a Cold Climate
$45.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

'I would place it among the classics of this century and the last' Sally Bayley, author of Girl With Dove If you tell a story oft enough So it become true As the nineteenth century draws towards a close, Mary Ann Sate, an elderly maidservant, sets out to write her truth. She write... read more

General Fields
: 9781783525492
: Unbound
: Unbound
: 5.7 Centimeters X 16.6 Centimeters X 24.4 Centimeters
Special Fields
: Alice Jolly
: Hardback
: English
: 823.92
: 640
: books
Mary Ann Sate, Imbecile
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Religion

A life of St Francis in verse
 
Throughout her career Ann Wroe has constantly confounded expectations, following her own unique path. Now, in Francis, she turns to verse to tell the life of St Francis of Assissi. This is a sequence only Ann Wroe could write, c... read more

General Fields
: 9781787331488
: penguin random house
: Jonathan Cape
: 1.8 Centimeters X 13.7 Centimeters X 20.5 Centimeters
Special Fields
: Ann Wroe
: Hardback
: English
: 821.92
: 208
: books
Francis - A Life in Songs
$0.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Novel

A profound masterpiece on war, loss and survival, rendered in prose of rhythmic precision, subtlety and exceptional sensitivity, by the Orange Prize-shortlisted author of Painter of Silence'Arresting and brutal ... the finely tuned work of a writer exceptionally at ease with her craft... read more

General Fields
: 9781408896235
: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
: ---length:- '8.504'width:- '5.315'units:- Inches
Special Fields
: Georgina Harding
: Paperback
: 823.92
: 240
: books
Land of the Living
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Novel

Reading Level:very good
Awards:2018 Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year Winner of the 2018 Costa Novel Award   LONGLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE Longlisted for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction  

 A wondrous and wise coming-of-age love story from the celebrated author of Conversations with Friends  At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other. He's popular and well-adjusted, star of the school football team, while she is lonely, proud and intensely pr... read more

Connell and Marianne go to school together in Carricklea. Connell’s mother Lorraine cleans house for Marianne’s family. Connell and Marianne affect stranger-hood and spend their school hours ignoring each other while after hours they explore each other’s minds and bodies. While Connell... read more

General Fields
: 9780571347292
: Faber & Faber
: Faber & Faber
: ---length:- '21.6'width:- '13.5'units:- Centimeters
: New Zealand
Special Fields
: Sally Rooney
: Paperback
: 1809
: English
: 823/.92
: 288
: books
Normal People
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: -1