Category:

 Novel

Reading Level:1 Fiction

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead takes place in a remote Polish village, where Duszejko, an eccentric woman in her sixties, recounts the events surrounding the disappearance of her two dogs. When members of a local hunting club are found murdered, ... read more

Janina ("don’t like my first name, so please don’t address me by it") Duszejko is in her sixties and lives in a remote Polish village. An ex-engineer, she teaches children English at the local school on a very part-time basis and is the caretaker of the holi... read more

General Fields
: 9781925773088
: Text Publishing Company
: Text Publishing Company
: ---length:- '23.4'width:- '15.3'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Olga Tokarczuk
: Paperback
: English
: 891.8538
: 256
: books
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
$37.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Category:

 Novel

Description: Santiago, Chile. The city is covered in ash. Three children of ex-militants are facing a past they can neither remember nor forget. Felipe sees dead bodies on every corner of the city, counting them up in an obsessive quest to square these figures with the official death toll.... read more

General Fields
: 9781911508328
: And Other Stories
: And Other Stories
Special Fields
: Alia Trabucco Zeran (Author) , Sophie Hughes (Translated by)
: Paperback
: 863.7
: 240
: books
The Remainder
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Description: The Shape of the Ruins by the Colombian writer Juan Gabriel Vasquez, whose recent novel, the best-selling Sound of Things Falling won Spain's Alfaguara Prize, Italy's Von Rezzori Prize and the 2014 Dublin IMPAC literary Award, was published to acclaim in Colombia... read more

General Fields
: 9780857056597
: Quercus
: MacLehose Press
: ---length:- '21'width:- '13.8'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Juan Gabriel Vasquez
: Paperback
: 1
: 863.7
: 512
: books
The Shape of the Ruins
$38.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Short Stories


A brilliant collection of fictions in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surrea... read more

General Fields
: 9781846276675
: Portobello Books
: Portobello Books Ltd
: ---length:- '19.8'width:- '12.9'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Mazen Maarouf
: Paperback
: English
: 892.737
: books
Jokes for the Gunmen
$25.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Description: Celestial Bodies is set in the village of al-Awafi in Oman, where we encounter three sisters: Mayya, who marries Abdallah after a heartbreak; Asma, who marries from a sense of duty; and Khawla who rejects all offers while waiting for her beloved, who has emigrated to Canada... read more

General Fields
: 9781912240166
: Sandstone Press Limited
: Sandstone Press Limited
Special Fields
: Jokha ALHARTHI
: Paperback
: 823.92
: 320
: books
Celestial Bodies
$28.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

They had no idea, when they arrived in Morocco, that their usual freedoms as young European women would not be available. So, when the spry Saleh presents himself as their guide and saviour, they embrace his offer. He extracts them from a tight space, only to lead them inexora... read more

General Fields
: 9781925713305
: United Book Distributors
: United Book Distributors
Special Fields
: Tommy Wieringa
: Hardback
: 112
: books
The Death of Murat Idrissi
$37.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Parl Minwoo is a success story. Born into poverty in a miserable neighbourhood of Seoul, he has ridden the wave of development in his country. Now the director of a large architectural firm, his hard work and ambition have brought him triumph and satisfaction. But that all begins to change when ... read more

General Fields
: 9781925322934
: Scribe Publications
: Scribe Publications
: 1.3 Centimeters X 13 Centimeters X 19.7 Centimeters
Special Fields
: Hwang Sok-Yong
: Paperback
: 895.73/4
: 192
: books
At Dusk
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Short Stories

"Superb" -- Vogue "What makes Schweblin so startling as a writer, however, what makes her rare and important, is that she is impelled not by mere talent or ambition but by vision." -- New York Times A powerful, eerily unsettling story collection from a major international... read more

General Fields
: 9781786074560
: Oneworld Publications
: Oneworld Publications
: .85 Inches X 5.3 Inches X 8.5 Inches
Special Fields
: Samanta Schweblin; Megan McDowell
: Hardback
: 863.7
: 240
: books
Mouthful of Birds
$33.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

In April 1988, Valerie Solanas - the writer, radical feminist and would-be assassin of Andy Warhol - was discovered dead in her hotel room, in a grimy corner of San Francisco. She was only 52; alone, penniless and surrounded by the typed pages of her last writings.
In The Fac... read more

General Fields
: 9780857054722
: Quercus
: Quercus
: ---length:- '21'width:- '13.8'units:- Centimeters
Special Fields
: Sara Stridsberg; Deborah Bragan-Turner
: Paperback
: English
: 839.738
: 352
: books
The Faculty of Dreams
$35.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Category:

 Novel

Hubert Mingarelli's simple, powerful, and moving stories of men in combat have established him as one of the most exciting new voices in international fiction. In Four Soldiers he tells the story of four young soldiers in 1919, members of the Red Army during the Russian civil war. It is se... read more

General Fields
: 9781846276507
: Granta Books
: Granta Books
: 20.50 cmmm X 13.40 cmmm X 2.20 cmmm
Special Fields
: Hubert Mingarelli; Sam Taylor
: Hardback
: en
: 843.92
: 160
: books
Four Soldiers
$30.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Literature

Co-winner of the 2018 French-American Foundation Translation Prize in NonfictionWinner of the 2017 Marguerite Yourcenar Prize for her entire body of workWinner of the 2016 Strega European Prize
 
Considered by many to be the iconic French memoirist's defining work, The Ye... read more

“She will go within herself only to retrieve the world,” writes Annie Ernaux in this astounding work of what she terms “impersonal autobiography”. Conspicuously not a memoir, unless it is a memoir of time itself, the book takes the form of a ‘flat’, rigorous and unsentimental serial accum... read more

General Fields
: 9781910695784
: Fitzcarraldo Editions
: Fitzcarraldo Editions
Special Fields
: Annie Ernaux; Alison L. Strayer
: Paperback
: 843.914
: 232
: books
The Years
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

Category:

 Novel

A subversive, entertaining noir novel from the winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize.
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead takes place in a remote Polish village, where Duszejko, an eccentric woman in her sixties, recounts the events surrounding the d... read more

Janina ("don’t like my first name, so please don’t address me by it") Duszejko is in her sixties and lives in a remote Polish village. An ex-engineer, she teaches children English at the local school on a very part-time basis and is the caretaker of the holiday... read more

General Fields
: 9781910695715
: Fitzcarraldo Editions
: Fitzcarraldo Editions
Special Fields
: Olga Tokarczuk
: Paperback
: English
: 891.8538
: 247
: books
Drive Your Plow over the Bones of the Dead
$40.00(NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0